My first Sukkot,with Pics

So we purchased PVC pipe and constructed a sukkah. The first meal in it..pretty nice! Said kiddush and hamatzi. We couldn’t afford lots of the other things, like we don’t have an etrog or any of the other requirements. I figured just getting a sukkah up was pretty good, given that I JUST started my new job and haven’t gotten  paid there yet.

This year the sukkah we constructed is fairly small. It’s not really big enough to seat the kids yet, so just my wife and I eat in it. The kids eat off to the side. Next year, I’d definately like to make it a little larger.

There’s lots of pine trees and such in our apartment complex, so I was easily able to acquire some branches for the covering. For the most part, many of these trees were in need of a good pruning anyhow, so I think we really did someone a favor here.

Now, for anyone unfamiliar with Jewish Holidays (like me), the interesting thing about Sukkot is that it’s such a BIG holiday that happens IMMEDIATELY after another big holiday. We literally just finished off Yom Kippur like last week and went straight into SUkkot. Pretty crazy. I’ve ready that there should be a procession around our synogogue at one of the services coming up, so I’m really hoping not to miss that. Honestly, one of my favorite parts about a service is the torah procession..so..I can’t help but wonder if we’ll be doing a giant torah procession around the building (probably not) !!

Anyway, here’s our cheap little, thrown together sukkah…

 

 

Happy Holidays and Shalom!



Leave a comment