My first Yom Kippur, tips and thoughts

So, was definitely NOT fully prepared for my first Yom Kippur. Part of the problem was that my wife and I had decided ahead of time, that we were not going to honor the liquid fast this year. Then, at the last moment, we each individually decided that there was no point in doing things halfway, and changed our minds. Now even so, there was time to be more prepared, so here are tips to you (and me) for next year:

1. Eat a complex carb meal right before. We actually had a very large meal, but I’m not sure any of it was complex (and thus longer laster).

2. Drink A LOT of water! This is where we fell down. We were very dehydrated the next day, but this could have been lessened by drinking lots of water the day prior.

3. Shower and hygiene shortly before sunset. You’re not going to be able to later, and I think you’ll be pretty happy about taking the time to do this.

4. Make sure you have canvas shoes and a non-leather belt already. Otherwise, you’ll be rushing to the store just before sunset instead of following the other tips here!

 

Now, my general thoughts about the big day. First, for any non-jews reading this, Yom Kippur is the Day Of Atonement. It’s the day that we’re pleading for God to forgive our sins. Now, certainly we do this every single day (praying three times a day as sin sacrifice offerings), but this is the day that we’re trying to get any outstanding sins forgiven for the entire year. It’s a big deal.

So here’s the thing. I really think that we’re much too dressed up on this day. In Torah, people are always wearing sack-cloth during times of repentance. It’s a good outward sign of how we should be feeling, humble and distressed. People were showing up to synagogue in suit+tie and such. Still fairly dressed up. I personally, do not like this. I actually wonder if there’s a synagogue somewhere that would turn you away if you showed up like that. I may do some research and find out. I like my shul, but, I would go to a different shul on Yom Kippur if I could find one that believed more closely to the way that I do.

Eating & drinking fast. I wasn’t sure how I felt about this. But, I think it’s important now. I never realized how difficult it was not to drink for an entire day. The eating, honestly, wasn’t a big deal for my wife or myself. Sure we got hungry a few times, but we were prepared more for that. It was the not drinking. At one point, I had almost decided to break the water fast. But then, I felt really REALLY pathetic about it. I thought, what pathetic kind of person doesn’t have the will-power to go without food and drink for a single day? How pathetic am I, if I cannot will myself to do this, even for a single day? At the least, it got me thinking a little bit about our counterparts in other parts of the world (or perhaps the homeless right here in our city) that have to deal with thirst and hunger regularly. I think, if anything, once I good tzedaka going, it will be to make sure that the poor are fed. Everyone should at LEAST have access to water to drink if not some type of food to sustain themselves.

I understand if you do not agree with anything that I’ve said here and also would like to start pointing out that my thoughts and ideas are not representative of the entire Jewish population. Don’t hate all Jews just because you disagree with one of MY viewpoints.

Shalom.



Leave a comment