There’s a God, now what?

So you/we have decided that there’s a God. Now where do we go? Well chances are you want to pick a religion, but let’s just slow things down a bit. Let’s think about a few things first.

1. Does God Still Exist?

I like to think that God still exists. Although I recognize that it’s possible that God could have set everything up to keep going in his absence, I like to believe that he’s still around. Is this wishful thinking? Not really. I can’t prove it, but I feel that he is. Now, I’m not one to just go off of feeling something, and just expecting everyone to just go with it, but when it comes to this most basic question, it’s difficult to come up with proof. It’s easier to logically decide that God existed at one time, but it’s more difficult to logically decide that he’s still around.

I believe that if God weren’t still around, that our world would plummet into a chaotic mess. That God keeps things running smoothly, and that’s his sign to us that he is in fact still here, otherwise, the earth would tumble into the sun. Gravity would cease to work properly and we’d all float off into space, etc…

Also, I believe that if I fervently seek after the truth, eventually, I will find it. If God is out there still, and I do my best to lead a good life and discover what his will is for me, that he will make these things known. And at the end of it all, even if I learn nothing, at least I tried.

Now, let’s just suppose for a moment that God doesn’t exist anymore. Is that any reason not to praise and remember your creator? If one of your parents dies, do you stop remembering and honoring them altogether? I think, you should remember and honor their memories and wishes even more when they’re gone. So even if God isn’t around anymore (which I don’t think is true), that would just be all the more reason to honor and worship his memory.

2. How many Gods are there?

I personally believe there is only one God. The idea of multiple gods existing just doesn’t make sense to me. If you’re interested in intelligent discourse on the concept of multiple deities, you need to go somewhere else. Sorry.

3.  Should we be afraid of God?

My answer, is yes. Why? What if God could kill you, simply by not thinking about you any more? That’s a being that you should fear and respect. But that you should be very grateful to for continuing to allow you to exist.



Leave a comment