Getting out of a funk

Are you here because you just don’t have anything better to do? Do you not really even want to be here, but being here is simply better than being nowhere? Do you ever stare at your TV/computer/space, WANTING almost CRAVING something exciting to do, but nothing comes to mind? You could watch TV, but you don’t feel like it. You could play video games, but you don’t feel like it. You could do quite a few things, but you just don’t feel like it.

The real problem, is that you don’t feel like doing anything, but you DO NOT want to do nothing! You want to do something, but really, you actually don’t want to. You want some exciting, challenging, amazing experience TO JUST HAPPEN. Of course, you know nothing’s going to happen, and this depresses you.

So, does this sound familiar? Is this you? This is me, on occasion and I would be curious to know if others ever feel this way. Ever feel this burning desire to do…something…but nothing seems to work out. Either you can’t afford the things that you want to do, or the things you want to do are out of season (the concert was last night, dinner theater isn’t for three more days, etc….).

Or maybe, you’re just to exhausted to do anything at all!

Here’s a few tips (in no particular order):

1. Go for a walk. It’s amazing how relaxing and enjoyable this can be. Make it a family trip. My wife and I purchased a side-by-side stroller for the kids and now we walk at least once a day. It was one of the best things we’ve ever purchased.

2. Go visit a family member. I personally hate visiting people, but this is one of those things that once you’re there, you’re glad that you went. If you don’t have family members nearby, go visit someone at the hospital or at a home.

3. Start a new anime / TV-series. There’s lots of shows out there that you’ve never seen. Even if the show is exceptionally bad, it’s still better than just sitting around! My wife and I always have at least one TV / Anime series that we are working on. It’s a great way to pass the time.

4. Find a free MMORPG to play. Many MMOs have free versions (knock-offs usually). The problem with this is you’ll eventually use it as a crutch for when you have nothing to do. You wont really feel like logging in, but you can’t think of anything else. Still, it’s better than nothing.

5. Look at job ads. Even if you don’t apply for a new job, it’s always fun to look at job ads and see what’s out there right now.

6. Learn to make a new dish. Everyone likes eating!!

7. Start a blog. What I’ve found from my various blogs, are they make you want to do things…so that you have something to blog about! I find myself needing to try new things for my programming blog, so that I can have new material. I need to attend religious events, so I have material for my Jewish THinking blog. I also need to read other blogs and tweak the SEO on my site. If you’re doing well, you’ll have comments to answer on your blog and it’ll consume a great deal of time if you let it. But, you’ll all-the-while feel like you’re doing something constructive and worthwhile!


One Comment on “Getting out of a funk”

  1. Yes, I definitely know the feeling– that sense of restlessness and boredom and WANTING to do something but not actually doing anything… Ahh! You’re right, a walk always seems to help, and once I started a blog I could give myself ‘homework’ to push through it.

    Nice to see proof that other creative minds get ‘stalled’ once in a while.

    Keep writing!

    emelia


Leave a comment